Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Terteryan, Avet

Avet Terteryan was born into a family enthusiastic about music. In 1948 Avet Terteryan enrolled at the Music Academy in Baku. In 1951 he continued his studies at the Romanos Melikyan Music Academy in Yerevan. From 1952 he studied composition with Eduard Mirsoyan at the Komitas Conservatory in Yerevan.

Alongside his activity as a free-lance composer, he occupied a number of official offices. From 1960 to 1963 he was Executive Secretary of the Armenian Composers’ Union. Between 1970 and 1974 Terteryan served as Chairman of the Music Department at the Armenian Cultural Ministry. In 1985 he accepted a professorship at the Yerevan Conservatory. In 1994 he received a stipend of the Province of Brandenburg and worked in Wiepersdorf for six months.

His compositions, most of which were composed in the isolation of Sevan Lake, are noted for their very personal mixture of modern Western compositional currents (e.g. dodecaphony and aleatory techniques) and Armenian folk traditions, especially emphasising instrumentation and tone colours in a unique and inimitable way. Terteryan became known in the West primarily for his Kleist opera “The Earthquake” and for his extensive symphonic production.


» Homepage of Avet Terteryan