Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Sostenuto” of Gerald Resch Given World Premiere

On 10 October 2015, the new chamber work “Sostenuto” for violin, violoncello and piano by Gerald Resch will be given its world premiere during the course of the 2015 Haydn Festival in Eisenstadt, Austria, where Resch has been active for many years as composer, orchestral director, chamber musician and arranger. The work will be performed by the Haydn Chamber Ensemble at Esterházy Palace, with the instrumentalists Luca Monti (piano), Cornelia Löscher (violin) and Hannes Gradwohl (violoncello). The Haydn Chamber Ensemble, based in Eisenstadt and Vienna, was founded in 2013 by Hannes Gradwohl.

Gerald Resch comments on his work “Sostenuto” as follows:
“The Haydn Chamber Ensemble approached me with their request for a piano trio referring to the “romantic” aspect of Joseph Haydn. His D-major Piano Trio, Hob.XV/24 is a wonderful example of how Haydn opened a door onto a new era during the last decade of his productivity. The initial impulse for ‘Sostenuto’ was my confrontation with Haydn’s D-major Piano Trio.”

10 October 2015
Esterházy Palace, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Gerald Resch
“Sostenuto” for violin, violoncello and piano
Haydn Chamber Ensemble


» Show all news