Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Peter Ruzicka’s “CLOUDS 2” [Linz Version] in Romania

On 3 September 2015 the final version of Peter Ruzicka’s “CLOUDS 2” (Linz version) for string quartet and orchestra given its Romanian premiere in Bucharest at the Romanian Athenaeum. The Solartis Quartet will perform the premiere together with the “George Enescu” Philharmonic Orchestra under the directin of Peter Ruzicka.

Peter Ruzicka comments on the final version of “CLOUDS 2” as follows:
“’CLOUDS 2’ is a ‘work in progress’. The performance in Linz is the world premiere of the third, substantially extended version, in which a string quartet, as soloists, stands opposite the large orchestra. After the purely orchestral version, the world premiere of which took place at the 2012 Rheingau Music Festival, my concern was to put an additional musical level into the musical architecture of the piece. This consists of moments of self-observatory contemplation and of developing variation. My music is searching for a remote, imaginary sound, which it approaches without ever completely reaching it. The path leads through sound clouds: crystalline musical shapes that seem to block the view in various formations and densities. Multiple vehement outbursts of the entire orchestra cover up the sonic discourse. Finally, one enters areas of memories of past events. Increasingly fragile, musically over-painted shapes line the path. And the music gradually appears to return…“

3 September 2015
Romanian Athenaeum, 5 PM
Romanian premiere: Peter Ruzicka
“CLOUDS 2” for string quartet and orchestra (Linz version)
Solartis Quartet
“George Enescu” Philharmonic Orchestra
Peter Ruzicka (direction)


» Show all news