Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Peter Ruzicka: Final Version of “CLOUDS 2” [Linz Version] Receives World Premiere

The world premiere of the final version of Peter Ruzicka’s “CLOUDS 2” (Linz version) for string quartet and orchestra will be presented on 20 June 2015 during the course of the “Festival Neue Musik” in Linz (16 to 21 June 2015). The Minguet Quartet and the Bruckner Orchestra Linz directed by the composer, chief music director and conductor Ruzicka will present the complete version of 2013 in the Great Hall of the Brucknerhaus.

Another performance of this version is planned for the George Enescu Festival in Bucharest on 3 September 2015. On that occasion, the Solartis Quartet together with the George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra will perform under the direction of Peter Ruzicka.

The composer has supplied the following commentary concerning the final version of “CLOUDS 2”:
“’CLOUDS 2’ is a ‘work in progress’. The performance in Linz is the world premiere of the third, substantially extended version, in which a string quartet, as soloists, stands opposite the large orchestra. After the purely orchestral version, the world premiere of which took place at the 2012 Rheingau Music Festival, my concern was to put an additional musical level into the musical architecture of the piece. This consists of moments of self-observatory contemplation and of developing variation. My music is searching for a remote, imaginary sound, which it approaches without ever completely reaching it. The path leads through sound clouds: crystalline musical shapes that seem to block the view in various formations and densities. Multiple vehement outbursts of the entire orchestra cover up the sonic discourse. Finally, one enters areas of memories of past events. Increasingly fragile, musically over-painted shapes line the path. And the music gradually appears to return…”

Ruzicka concerts will also take place at this festival on 19 and 21 June 2015. The soprano Sarah Maria Sun and the Minguet Quartet will present Ruzicka’s 6th String Quartet with soprano solo “ERINNERUNG UND VERGESSEN” (Brucknerhaus, Middle Hall) on 19 June. On 21 June listeners will be able to hear performances of the works “JE WEITER ICH KOMME, UM SO MEHR FINDE ICH MICH UNFÄHIG, DIE IDEE WIEDERZUGEBEN” for chamber ensemble, the concerto “... ÜBER DIE GRENZE” for violoncello and chamber orchestra as well as “... DER DIE GESÄNGE ZERSCHLUG” for baritone and ensemble during the course of a Ruzicka portrait concert. The performers here will be the cellist Peter Sigl, baritone Dietrich Henschel and the “oenm. österreichische ensemble für neue music” under the direction of Johannes Kalitzke.

20 June 2015
Brucknerhaus, Great Hall, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Peter Ruzicka
“CLOUDS 2” for string quartet and orchestra (Linz version)
Minguet Quartet
Bruckner Orchestra Linz
Peter Ruzicka (direction)


» Show all news