Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Symphony No. 1 by Johannes Harneit Given World Premiere

Highly complex artistic formation and a vehement will to take a social-political stance merge in many musical works of the 20th and 21st centuries, especially under the unsettling impression of the Holocaust. This merging will be traced at the special concert of the Heidelberg Theatre and Orchestra concluding the symposium “Politisches Musiktheater heute” (Political Music Theatre Today), with works by explicitly politically committed composers including Johannes Harneit from Hamburg.

Harneit’s Symphony No. 1, commissioned by the Heidelberg Theatre and Orchestra, will be given its world premiere on 15 February 2015 at this special concert by the Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra under the composer’s direction.

On 13 February 2015, the operas by Harneit entitled “Abends am Fluss” (Evening on the River) and “Hochwasser – Zwei Koffer im Keller” (Flood -Two Suitcases in the Cellar), already premiered at the Theatre on 6 February 2015, will be included at this symposium.

15 February 2015
Theatre, Alter Saal, 11 AM
World premiere: Johannes Harneit
Symphony No. 1
Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra
Johannes Harneit (direction)

Copyright of the photo: Barbara Auermüller


» Show all news