Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Elena Firsova’s “Beyond the Seven Seals” Receives Swedish Premiere

Under the direction of Michail Jurowski the Norrköpings Symfoniorkester will perform the Swedish premiere of the 2010 composed orchestral music “Beyond the Seven Seals“ by the Russian composer Elena Firsova at the De Geerhallen of Norrköping on 12 February 2015. The World premiere of the work already takes place on 9 September 2010 by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev in Toulouse.

The composer has this to say about her new piece:
”The title ‘Beyond the Seven Seals’ originates in the Bible, but in Russian it has another meaning when we speak of mysteries that we do not understand. I have preceded the composition with the opening of a poem by Omar Khayyam as an epigraph:

’Where did we come from?
Where are we going?
What meaning does our life have?
We cannot comprehend it ...’

The composition begins with these three questions, represented by the harp. Then follows a phrase consisting of seven sections relating to the symbolism of the last line, ‘We cannot comprehend it…:’ the answer to our questions lies behind the seven seals. The people try to understand something during the entire piece, but everything boils down to the fatal seventh seal. The composition ends with seven chords struck by the entire orchestra.”

12 February 2015
De Geerhallen, 7 PM (Introduction to the concert: 6:30 PM)
Swedish premiere: Elena Firsova
“Beyond the Seven Seals” for orchestra
Norrköpings Symfoniorkester
Michail Jurowski (direction)

Copyright of the photo: Louis de Geer Konsert & Kongress


» Show all news