Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Austrian Premiere: “Lady Magnesia” by Mieczysław Weinberg

On 5 December 2014 the German version of Mieczysław Weinberg’s chamber opera “Lady Magnesia” given its Austrian premiere at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg. The work based on Bernard Shaw's play “Passion, Poison and Petrification”. The Chamber Orchestra of the Mozarteum University will present the opera under the direction of Kai Röhrig.

The work, composed in 1975, gave its scenic world premiere (in a German adaption by Hans-Ulrich Duffek) at the Erfurt Theatre on 2 February 2012. Samuel Bächli was the musical director of the Erfurt Philharmonic Orchestra.

The odd story of the opera “Lady Magnesia” is based on a comedy by Bernard Shaw. The jealous Sir George Fitztollemache decides to murder his wife, whose heart seems to belong to the lackey Adolphus Bastable. A nocturnal meeting between the couple changes the situation, however. Adolphus becomes the victim of a poison attack of the man of the house. By taking an ostensible antidote consisting of plaster, the house friend is finally petrified in death into a statue of himself. Sir and Lady Fitztollemache set Adolphus’s statue upright; it spreads out its arms over the Fitztollemaches in a more or less blessing gesture.

Further performances of “Lady Magnesia” at the Mozarteum University take place on 6 December (5 PM), 9 December and 10 December 2014 (both 7 PM).

5 December 2014
Mozarteum University, 7 PM
Austrian premiere: Mieczysław Weinberg
“Lady Magnesia”. Opera in one act (German version)
Chamber Orchestra of the Mozarteum University
Kai Röhrig (musical direction)
Hermann Keckeis (stage direction)


» Show all news