New Works by Franghiz Ali-Zadeh, Johannes X. Schachtner and Krzysztof Meyer on Julius Bergerís 60th Birthday

On the occasion of the 60th birthday of the cellist Julius Berger, who will be honoured on 15 November 2014 with a celebratory concert in the Golden Hall of Augsburg City Hall, the composers Krzysztof Meyer, Johannes X. Schachtner and Franghiz Ali-Zadeh have recently written new works dedicated to Berger, a native of Augsburg.

At the birthday concert under the motto “con gran affetto”, world premiere performances will be given by docents and students of the Leopold Mozart Centre in Augsburg of Krzysztof Meyer’s “Three times four” for violoncello and piano, Johannes X. Schachtner’s “Kairos” for violoncello and percussion and “Duo of Accordance” for clarinet and violoncello by Franghiz Ali-Zadeh. Annette Schavan (Ambassador for the Federal Republic of Germany in the Vatican), Prof. Dr. Hans Maier (former Minister of State) and Dr. Theo Waigel (former Federal Prime Minister) will address greetings to Julius Berger.

Krzysztof Meyer comments on his work “Three times four” as follows:
“This work was the result of a collaboration with my wonderful friend, the outstanding cellist Julius Berger. Several years ago, his exceptional interpretation of my Concerto for violin and violoncello impressed me deeply. Later, when he played my 2nd Sonata for violoncello solo, a work written for him, my enthusiasm became even greater. In my new piece, composed on the occasion of his 60th birthday, I intended to write kind of music in which not only virtuosity but also a beautiful sound should stand at the forefront. Above all, however, I wanted to please Julius with it and also give enjoyment to the audience. The title ‘three times four’ describes the basic idea of the work: three musical characters are varied in four different respective forms. Or put the other way round: four characteristic sound designs appear in three different shapes. It is difficult to say more about the piece than that. My ideal is music that is sufficient unto itself, a kind of music that requires no commentary - that itself says so much that all commentary becomes superfluous.”

Johannes X. Schachtner on “Kairos”:
“When Julius Berger was honoured for his unique musical production in May of this year at the Eckelshausen Music Days, he spoke a number of times in his acceptance speech about ‘Kairos’ - that advantageous, right and fortunate point in time at which 'heaven silently kisses [...] the earth", so to speak, as expressed in Julius's ‘Lebensgedicht’ (Poem of Life). With his indefatigable commitment, Julius Berger is the one who, time and again, creates a ‘Kairos’ for us composers when he sits at the cello and brings our music to life, also inspiring us anew in conversations. My short composition for violoncello and percussion for Julius Berger’s 60th birthday is meant to be a small ‘idyll’ attempting to commemorate these moments with music.”

15 November 2014
City Hall, Golden Hall, 8 PM
World premiere: Krzysztof Meyer
“Three times four” for violoncello and piano
World premiere: Johannes X. Schachtner
“Kairos” for violoncello and percussion
World premiere: Franghiz Ali-Zadeh,
“Duo of Accordance” for clarinet and violoncello
Docents and Students of the Leopold-Mozart-Zentrum Augsburg


» Show all news