Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere: Ulrich Leyendecker‘s Symphony No. 5 at the Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern

The Orchestra of the Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern will present the world premiere of Ulrich Leyendecker’s Symphony No. 5 on 10 October 2014 during the course of the first symphony concert of the series “Concerts of the City of Kaiserslautern”. The conductor of the concert in the Fruchthalle of the Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern will be Markus Bieringer. The Symphony No. 5 was commissioned by the Cultural Ministry of Rheinland-Pfalz on the occasion of the Gutenberg Year 2000.

Hardly another composer of his generation has developed his style with greater stringency and precision than Ulrich Leyendecker, who was born in Wuppertal and will celebrate his 70th birthday in 2016. Leyendecker, who can look back on a long period of activity as a University Professor in Hamburg and Heidelberg-Mannheim, has also been able to pass on a great deal to his students. Orchestral works, chamber music and piano works, as well as vocal compositions in highly varied ensemble formations, dominate Leyendecker’s catalogue of works. The titles often point to an extra-musical inspiration, processed and reflected by the composer in many ways. What is characteristic of Leyendecker is his firm adherence to tradition generic designations of music history such as the symphony (he still writes the term in German in the old manner), concerto and trio.

The composer comments as follows on his Symphony No. 5:
“There is a rather long story behind my Symphony No. 5. It was originally planned - as a work commissioned by the Cultural Ministry Rheinland-Pfalz – to be given its world premiere at the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz. But the premiere was postponed several times due to changes of music directors and conductors. I just let the score sit around. Then, in the spring of 2014, there came a request from Kaiserslautern as to whether I had a piece for the coming season. I suggested that I thoroughly revise the Symphony No. 5 (Concerto for Orchestra) and compose parts of it anew; this suggestion was immediately accepted.
The five movements of my Symphony are related to each other and together create an arc form. The first and last movements, as well as the second and fourth movements, correspond to each other both in terms of form and of content. The middle movement stands alone in this overall five-movement architecture.”

10 October 2014
Pfalztheater, Fruchthalle, 8 PM
World premiere: Ulrich Leyendecker
Symphony No. 5. Concerto for orchestra
Orchestra of the Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern
Markus Bieringer (direction)

Copyright of the photo: Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern


» Show all news