Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Arvo Pärt Receives the Praemium Imperiale 2014

The renowned music prize “Praemium Imperiale” will be awarded to the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt for his life’s work in the autumn of 2014. The prize winners of previous years have included the Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina and the Russian composer Alfred Schnittke.

Arvo Pärt will personally accept the prize on 15 October 2014 in Tokyo. Other prize winners are the playwright Athol Fugard from South Africa, the French painter Martial Raysse and the sculptor Giuseppe Penone from Italy. Typical for Pärt’s production since the late 1970s has been a reduction to melodically simple triadic motifs. In using these, he has preferred insistent, repetitive patterns, litany-like phrases and archaic forms. The most important works of Arvo Pärt in our catalogue include the cello concerto “Pro et Contra”, the famous collage on B-A-C-H for strings, oboe, harpsichord and piano as well as the Concerto piccolo on B-A-C-H for trumpet, string orchestra, harpsichord and piano.

Copyright of the photo: Vivianne Purdom


» Show all news