Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Polish Premiere: “In tempus praesens” by Sofia Gubaidulina in Poznań

The Violin Concert No. 2 “In tempus praesens” by Sofia Gubaidulina, written in 2007 for Anne-Sophie Mutter and already performed over 30 times around the world, will be given its Polish premiere on 13 June 2014 in Poznań. Bartłomiej Nizioł (violin) and the Poznań Symphony Orchestra directed by Marek Pijarowski will perform at Adam Mickiewicz University. The orchestra will also play Johannes Brahms’s Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73 and Ludwig van Beethoven’s “Egmont Overture” at this concert.

The Concerto, commissioned by the Paul Sacher Foundation, is Sofia Gubaidulina’s second violin concerto after the great “Offertorium” of 1980, introduced to the world by Gidon Kremer, which can already be designated a repertoire piece of contemporary music. With “In tempus praesens,” the composer let herself be led by the term “Sophia” contained in her name and also that of the dedicatee, which for her represents the creative energy of God. Alongside this, several other phenomena play a special role for Gubaidulina in this work. Derived from the sacred trinity, the number three and one are central for her. “But this ’one’ carries an infinite, multidimensional world within itself and thus an infinite number of characteristics,” the composer explains. Thus the large unison at the transition from the fourth to the fifth part of the work - for Gubaidulina a metaphor for the present (“tempus praesens”) - simultaneously stands for variety in unity.

13 June 2014
Adam Mickiewicz University, 7 PM
Polish premiere: Sofia Gubaidulina
“In tempus praesens” for violin and orchestra
Bartłomiej Nizioł (violin)
Poznań Symphony Orchestra
Marek Pijarowski (direction)


» Show all news