Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Amoroso” by Nikolai Korndorf for the First Time in Canada

Members of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra conducted by Gordon Gerrard will perform the Canadian premiere of the ensemble work “Amoroso” for eleven instruments by the Russian composer Nikolai Korndorf at the concert “Messenger of the Gods” of the concert series “The Vancouver Sun Symphony at the Annex”. The concert will take place at the Orpheum Annex Theatre in Vancouver, a theatre that was opened in 1927.

Korndorf was born in Moscow in 1947. He completed his studies at the Moscow Conservatory in 1970, including the subjects of composition (with Sergei Balassanian) and conducting (with Leo Ginsburg). Korndorf was an instructor in instrumentation there and was also occasionally active there as a conductor. For a time, he was the director of the Association of Young Composers in the Soviet Union. In 1986 he received a composition commission from West German Radio for the Witten Days of New Chamber Music, and the Munich Biennale commissioned a chamber opera from him in 1990. Nikolai Korndorf died on 30 May 2001.

His work “Amoroso” was composed in 1986 in response to a commission from the soloists’ ensemble of the Bolschoi Theatre in Moscow.

1 June 2014
Orpheum Annex Theatre, 8 PM
Canadian premiere: Nikolai Korndorf
“Amoroso” for eleven instrumentalists
Members of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra
Gordon Gerrard (direction)


» Show all news