Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Works by Benjamin Yusupov in Russia and Mexico

The Russian star violinist Anna Serova will perform three works each on 28 March and 3 April 2014, each of them premieres, by the Israeli composer Benjamin Yusupov in Russia and Mexico.

The soloist and the Siberian Symphony Orchestra of the Omsk Philharmonia, directed by Dmitri Vasiliev, will perform the Concerto for Viola and Orchestra at the Philharmonia in Omsk on 28 March 2014. The works “Postludium” for orchestra and Go Tango for orchestra will also receive premieres on this evening.

There will follow in Monterrey on 3 April 2014 a concert with the soloist together with the UANL Symphony Orchestra under Jesús Medina. The works of Yusupov will receive their Mexican premieres at the Teatro Universitario.

The composer on his Viola Concerto:
“We are living today in a world in which the most varied cultures are disseminated through different kinds of media and means of communication. Thus, one can either persist in an individually preferred musical culture or one can try to reconcile all kinds of music with which one is surrounded. My greatest interest is in such a synthesis. I believe that composition in the 21st century should ‘omnisciently’ blend and integrate the entire spectrum of the music into a common language, Together with the almost unlimited sonic possibilities of the symphony orchestra, this was an essential motivation for me to write a concerto in the 21st century.”

The Score for viewing of the Viola Concerto you will find here!

28 March 2014
Philharmonia, 7 PM
Russian Premiere: Benjamin Yusupov
Concerto for Viola and Orchestra
“Postludium” for orchestra
“Go Tango” for orchestra
Anna Serova (viola)
Siberian Symphony Orchestra of Omsk Philharmonia
Dmitri Vasiliev (direction)

3 April 2014
Teatro Universitario
Mexican premiere: Benjamin Yusupov
Concerto for Viola and Orchestra
“Postludium” for orchestra
“Go Tango” for orchestra
Anna Serova (viola)
UANL Symphony Orchestra
Jesús Medina (direction)

Copyright of the photo: Ken Howard


» Show all news