Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s “Kurtág-Cantus II” at the ANODE Festival in New Orleans

At the festival ANODE (“Artistic New Orleans: Discussions & Extensions”), the flutist Shanna Gutierrez will perform the world premiere of the new solo work “Kurtág-Cantus II” for piccolo by Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf on 11 April 2014. In the brand-new composition cycle of homages to György Kurtág, the composer wrote this piece for Shanna Gutierrez.

The same soloist will present another performance of this composition in the composer’s presence on 14 April 2014 in Chicago (Constellation).

Mahnkopf worked on his “Kurtág Cycle” from 2000 until 2013. It is comprised of the following 9 works:

“Hommage à György Kurtág” for guitar and ensemble
“Kurtág-Duo” for two guitars
“Todesmusik I (Music of Death I)” for two trumpets,
two trombones, cymbalom and percussion
“Todesmusik II (Music of Death II)” for two trumpets,
two trombones, cymbalom and two percussionists
“Hommage à Mark André” for cymbalom
“Kurtág-Cantus” I-IV for A clarinet, piccolo, violin, horn

The composer comments on his “Kurtág Cycle” as follows:
“The ‘Hommage à György Kurtág’, although a guitar concerto, contains five sub-soloists, so to speak: piccolo, piccolo oboe, e-flat clarinet, horn and violin. Their parts are variations of excerpts from my piccolo oboe solo piece ‘Solitude-Nocturne’ (1992/93) with its melodic language in eighth-tones. The parts of these sub-soloists (except for the piccolo oboe), in turn, form the source material of the ‘Kurtág Cantus I-IV’, whereby each cantus, alongside the new ordering of the melodic material, undergoes a specific expansion: the clarinet piece is expanded downwards by a tritone; multiphonics are integrated into the piccolo piece; the violin piece contains quasi-improvisational bow overpressure; sounds of breathing can be heard in the horn piece.
‘Kurtág Cantus I’ is dedicated to Jörg Widmann, who performed the world premiere of the work on 19 December 2006 in Berlin. ‘Kurtág Cantus II’ is dedicated to Shanna Gutierrez, who will perform the world premiere of the work on 11 April 2014 in New Orleans. ‘Kurtág Cantus IV’ is dedicated to Samuel Stoll, who performed the premiere of the work on 10 February 2014 in Helsinki."

11 April 2014
New Orleans
Tulane University, Dixon Recital Hall, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf
“Kurtág-Cantus II” for piccolo solo
Shanna Gutierrez (piccolo)


» Show all news