Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lera Auerbach: String Quartet No. 8 “Sylvia’s Diary“ Given World Premiere

Lera Auerbach’s newly finished String Quartet No. 8 “Sylvia’s Diary“ will be given its world premiere at the University of Rochester (USA) on 17 November 2013, performed by the Ying Quartet (USA) during the course of the Eastman-Ranlet Series, consisting of four Sunday concerts. The work was commissioned by the Hanson Institute for American Music of the Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester.

The Quartet, founded in 1988 - Ayano Ninomiya, Janet Ying (violins), Phillip Ying (viola) and David Ying (violoncello) - has received a number of honours, including a Grammy in 2005.

The world premiere of Lera Auerbach's String Quartet No. 7 “Désir” was recently given during the course of the South Mountain Concerts in Pittsfield (Massachusetts). The Borromeo String Quartet presented Auerbach's work, mostly composed in Verbier, on 8 September.

The composer comments on her work:
“In my studio, I used to have portraits of my favorite poets hanging on the wall next to my desk. One day, I realized that most of them either committed suicide or subjected themselves to suicide-like circumstances (like Pushkin who was repeatedly trying to subject himself to a duel). How could it be that the most sensitive people who bring so much joy to others through their writings, would give up on life?
Suicide is still a taboo theme in our society. Yet, it daily kills more people than any disease or war. Looking for answers, I came across the diaries of Sylvia Plath, who killed herself at the age of thirty at the height of her powers as a poet. My String Quartet No. 8 ‘Sylvia’s Diary’ is written in honor of Sylvia Plath.”

17 November 2013
Rochester (USA)
University, Kilbourn Hall, 3 PM
World premiere: Lera Auerbach
String Quartet No. 8 “Sylvia’s Diary“
Ying Quartet


» Show all news