Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Gerald Resch’s “Seven Madrigals” Receive World Premiere in Salzburg

The “Seven Madrigals” on contemporary love poems for five voices and accordion by the Austrian composer Gerald Resch will be given their world premiere at the Schlosskirche Mirabell in Salzburg on 25 November 2013. The accordionist Alfred Melichar, Rita Balta (soprano) and the Paul Hofhaimer Ensemble Salzburg will present the new chamber work conducted by Herbert Grassl. The premiere is an event organised by the International Paul Hofhaymer Society in Salzburg.

The composer comments on his work as follows:
“Despite all the changes taking place in the world, love poems are still being written. My ‘Seven Madrigals’ are settings of contemporary love poems that move me personally. I have tried to find a kind of music that is as direct as possible for these texts, remaining plain, poetic and unforced. The ‘Seven Madrigals’ are dedicated to my wife, Tina.”

25 November 2013
Schlosskirche Mirabell, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Gerald Resch
”Seven Madrigals“ on contemporary love poems for five voices and accordion
Rita Balta (soprano)
Alfred Melichar (accordion)
Paul Hofhaimer Ensemble Salzburg
Herbert Grassl (direction)


» Show all news