Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Finnish Premiere of Elena Firsova’s “Beyond the Seven Seals” in Helsinki

Under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra will present the Finnish premiere of Elena Firsova’s “Beyond the Seaven Seals“ for orchestra on 27 September 2013 in Helsinki.

The symphonic work received its world premiere in September 2010 by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev in Toulouse.

Elena Firsova comments on her work:
”The title ‘Beyond the Seven Seals’ originates in the Bible, but in Russian it has another meaning when we speak of mysteries that we do not understand. I have preceded the composition with the opening of a poem by Omar Khayyam as an epigraph:

’Where did we come from?
Where are we going?
What meaning does our life have?
We cannot comprehend it ...’

The composition begins with these three questions, represented by the harp. Then follows a phrase consisting of seven sections relating to the symbolism of the last line, ‘We cannot comprehend it…:’ the answer to our questions lies behind the seven seals. The people try to understand something during the entire piece, but everything boils down to the fatal seventh seal. The composition ends with seven chords struck by the entire orchestra.”

Sergei Prokofiev`s Symphony No. 5 will also be part of the concert.

27 September 2013
Music Centre, Concert Hall, 7 PM
Finnish premiere: Elena Firsova
”Beyond the Seven Seals” for orchestra
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Tugan Sokhiev (direction)


» Show all news