Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Alexander Raskatov’s “Night Butterflies“ receives World Premiere in The Hague

The latest contribution to the genre of the piano concerto is by the Russian composer Alexander Raskatov. The pianist Tomoko Mukaiyama will perform the world premiere of this work on 11 May 2013 in The Hague, accompanied by Het Residentie Orkest Den Haag conducted by Reinbert de Leeuw.

His piano concerto “Night Butterflies” will consist of twelve brief sections, as Alexander Raskatov has already revealed at this time. The idea for the work came to him in a greenhouse in the middle of a plethora of flowering and sprouting plants. Between the plants there, he saw a number of wonderfully coloured butterflies of all sizes flying around. This impression is the reason why he chose such quickly changing movement characters for his Piano Concerto.

Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9 will also be part of the concert.

11 May 2013
The Hague
Dr. Anton Philipszaal, 8:30 PM
World premiere: Alexander Raskatov
”Night Butterflies“. Concerto for piano and orchestra
Tomoko Mukaiyama (piano)
Het Residentie Orkest Den Haag
Reinbert de Leeuw (direction)


» Show all news