Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Essen Concert Series “Klangbilder“ with instrumental works by Grigori Frid

The event "Klangbilder" with the Folkwang Chamber Orchestra of Essen has prepared spectacular concerts for chamber orchestra on 22 and 23 February 2013 at the "Villa Hügel" in Essen at which the Russian composer Grigori Frid, who died just recently on 22 September 2012, will play a major role. The organisers of these events describe the fascinating sound worlds of Grigori Frid as "images at times stormily extroverted, at other times calmly grounded, full of intimacy but always masterly composed in musical forms." The composer has become especially well known to a wider public, also in western countries, through his two so-called mono-operas "The Diary of Anne Frank" and "Letters of Van Gogh".

His instrumental works Concerto for Viola, Piano and Strings, Op. 73 (German premiere) and Two Inventions for String Orchestra, Op. 46a will now be performed at the festival "Klangbilder". The soloists are Eniko Magyar (viola) and Oliver Triendl (piano), with the Folkwang Chamber Orchestra conducted by Achim Fiedler.

22 February 2013
Villa Hügel, 8 PM
German premiere: Grigori Frid
Concerto for Viola, Piano and Strings
Eniko Magyar (viola)
Oliver Triendl (piano)
Folkwang Chamber Orchestra
Achim Fiedler, conductor

Further performances: 23 February 2013 (8 PM) in the Villa Hügel and on 25 April 2013 in Kempten (Stadttheater, 8 PM)


» Show all news