Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Premiere of Lera Auerbach’s String Quartet No. 6 in the USA

On 26 January 2013 Lera Auerbach’s String Quartett No. 6 “Farewell” will receive its American premiere in the Kaufmann Concert Hall of the 92nd Street Y Center in New York.

The Tokyo String Quartet, which already performed the world premiere in Madrid on 30 November 2012 and the german premiere on 5 December in Ludwigshafen, will present the work.

Lera Auerbach replied as follows to the question of whether she wrote the String Quartet because the Tokyo String Quartet was disbanding:

“I was commissioned to write this quartet before Tokyos knew they would dissolve. So, I would have written a new work for them for this season in any case. However, when I learnt that this will be their last season and this is the last work ever to be commissioned and written for them, I decided to subtitle this quartet as ‘Farewell’ and it has a ‘farewell’ feeling in more than one level.”

The String Quartet No. 6 by the Russian-American composer is a joint commission by the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, 92nd Street Y and the BASF Ludwigshafen.

26 January 2013
New York
92nd Street Y, Kaufmann Concert Hall, 8 PM
American premiere: Lera Auerbach
Streichquartett Nr. 6 “Farewell“
Tokyo String Quartet


» Show all news