Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

20 Years of Ensemble SurPlus: World Premiere of Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s “Hommage à Daniel Libeskind Volume II”

The Freiburg composer Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf was commissioned by the Freiburg Ensemble SurPlus (with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation) to compose a work to mark the 20th anniversary of the Ensemble.

He composed “Hommage à Daniel Libeskind Volume II” for ensemble which will now be given its world premiere by the Ensemble SurPlus on 8 December 2012 at the E-Werk in Freiburg during the course of a jubilee concert for the Ensemble.

The composer has supplied the following comments on his work:
“’Hommage à Daniel Libeskind Volume II’ was composed in 2010/2011 in response to a commission from the Ensemble SurPlus (with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation). It consists of 25 miniatures. At the centre stands a long violoncello solo lasting over 12 minutes and surrounded by other miniatures. Some of these only consist of a single sustained chord (eight times), so that the music comes to a calm stasis in this centre, and thus in the centre of the entire cycle. Whereas, in the first book, each miniature is as individually designed as possible, some of them in the second book draw upon related pieces from the first book and vary them.”

In 2002 Mahnkopf had already composed “Hommage à Daniel Libeskind Volume I”, which was premiered in Cologne in late 2002 by the “ensemble recherche”.

8 December 2012
E-Werk, Hall, 8 PM
(Introduction to the concert: 7 PM)
World premiere: Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf
”Hommage à Daniel Libeskind Volume II“ for ensemble
Ensemble SurPlus


» Show all news