Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lera Auerbach’s String Quartet No. 6 receives World Premiere in Madrid

The Tokyo String Quartet, whose members are Martin Beaver, Kikuei Ikeda (both violins), Kazuhide Isomura (viola) and Clive Greensmith (violoncello), will perform the world premiere of Lera Auerbach’s String Quartet No. 6 “Farewell” on 30 November 2012 in Madrid.

On 5 December 2012 there will be the German premiere in Ludwigshafen, also presented by the Tokyo String Quartet.

The 2012/2013 is the final season for the Quartet. Lera Auerbach replied as follows to the question of whether she wrote the String Quartet because the Tokyo String Quartet was disbanding:

“I was commissioned to write this quartet before Tokyos knew they would dissolve. So, I would have written a new work for them for this season in any case. However, when I learnt that this will be their last season and this is the last work ever to be commissioned and written for them, I decided to subtitle this quartet as ‘Farewell’ and it has a ‘farewell’ feeling in more than one level.”

The String Quartet No. 6 by the Russian-American composer is a joint commission by the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, 92nd Street Y and the BASF Ludwigshafen.

In New York there will be the American premiere in the end of January 2013.

30 November 2012
Auditorio Nacional de Música, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Lera Auerbach
String Quartet No. 6 “Farewell“
Tokyo String Quartet

5 December 2012
BASF-Feierabendhaus, 8 PM
(Interview with Lera Auerbach, Kammermusiksaal, 7 PM)
German premiere: Lera Auerbach
String Quartet No. 6 “Farewell“
Tokyo String Quartet


» Show all news