Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Serenade for a Melancholic Sea”: Russian Premiere of Lera Auerbach's Concert Work

The work entitled “Serenade for a Melancholic Sea” by Lera Auerbach, completed in 2002, will be given its Russian premiere in the Siberian city of Krasnoyarsk on 22 September 2012. The performers will include Hugo Ticciati (violin) and the Krasnoyarsk Symphony Orchestra under the direction of the young Russian conductor Mark Kadin.

This concertante orchestral work, dedicated to Gidon Kremer, was premiered in 2002 in Kanazawa (Japan) by Michael Dauth (violin), Marta Sudraba (violoncello), Andrius Zlabys (piano) and the Kanazawa Orchestra Ensemble conducted by Hiroyuki Iwaki.

Lera Auerbach comments on “Serenade for a Melancholic Sea” as follows:

“This work was completed at the request of Gidon Kremer, to whom it is dedicated, and was commissioned by the Ensemble Kanazawa. Written in homage to Toru Takemitsu, the material of the ‘Serenade’ incorporates both Toru’s and Gidon’s monograms. Takemitsu’s ‘Sea motive’ (E-flat, E, A) is also present. Thus, symbolically, Gidon and Toru meet again in a timeless and spaceless sea of music. Perhaps the greatest mystery of musical performance is when composer, performer and listener meet in the realm of a moment in which future meets past and this intersection becomes present.

The orchestra and soloists play very different roles in this piece. The orchestral writing is delicate yet complex. The image I had in mind in its conception was of a painting that from distance may seem as a one-colored pallet canvas, but upon a closer look - one finds very detailed brushwork - a polyphonic painting. The string orchestra is divided in 23 independent parts that carry different perspectives in this ever-changing mosaic of colors. Upon this quiet but multi-layered background the main characters of Violin, Cello and Piano are present as individual figures surrounded by a large open space.“

22 September 2012
Philharmonic Hall, 8 PM
Russian premiere: Lera Auerbach
”Serenade for a Melancholic Sea“ for violin, violoncello, piano and strings
Hugo Ticciati (violin) and others
Symphony Orchestra Krasnojarsk
Mark Kadin (direction)


» Show all news