Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival: World Premiere of Xiaoyong Chen's String Quartet No. 4

The world premiere of the String Quartet No. 4 by Xiaoyong Chen, composed in 2012, will be given at this year's Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (7 July until 25 August 2012) at a concert entitled "Dem Klang verpflichtet" (Committed to Sound) alongside the performance of Lin Yang's String Quartet No. 1 "In this Moment".

The Amaryllis Quartet, consisting of Gustav Frielinghaus und Lena Wirth (violins), Lena Eckels (viola) and Yves Sandoz (violoncello), will present the works at the Bucerius Art Forum in Hamburg. Both works were composed especially for the Amaryllis Quartet.

Chen, who already dedicated his 3rd String Quartet to the Amaryllis Quartet, does not use any definite folkloristic echoes in his works, but rather finely scattered traces of Chinese musical tradition.

5 August 2012
Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Bucerius Kunst Forum, 7 PM
World premiere: Xiaoyong Chen
String Quartet No. 4
Amaryllis Quartett - Gustav Frielinghaus und Lena Wirth (violins), Lena Eckels (viola), Yves Sandoz (violoncello)


» Show all news