Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Tan Dun: World Premiere and German Premiere at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival 2012

A world premiere and a German premiere of works by the Chinese star composer Tan Dun will be given in Neumünster and Hamburg during the course of this year's Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (7 July till 25 August 2012).

Tan Dun wrote the music for the three most famous “Wuxia” films “Tiger and Dragon” (“Crouching Tiger”: Concert for Violoncello and Orchestra), “Hero” (“Hero”: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra) and “The Banquet” (“The Banquet”: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra). From the film music he created the “Martial Arts Trilogy”, the individual parts of which are connected by the motif of tragic love.

The concert work “Martial Arts Trilogy” will be given its German premiere on 11 August 2012 at the Holstenhalle in Neumünster, performed by the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival Orchestra conducted by Tan Dun himself.

The world premiere of the percussion concerto "The Tears of Nature" planned for 18 August 2012 and the performance on the following day in Flensburg are unfortunately being cancelled due to the illness of the percussionist Martin Grubinger.

This year's prize winner of the Leonard Bernstein Award, the organ virtuoso Cameron Carpenter, will be standing in for Grubinger as the soloist of the evening. Together with the NDR Symphony Orchestra under the direction of the composer, he will perform the world premiere of Tan Dun's new, spontaneously composed organ concerto "Symphonic Poem of 4 Notes."

Excerpts from Sergei Prokofiev's “Romeo and Juliet”, Op. 64 will also be perform at this concert.

Immediately following the concert, Tan Dun will be honoured for his compositional work with the Hamburg Bach Prize 2011.

11 August 2012
Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Holstenhalle, 8 PM
German premiere: Tan Dun
”Martial Arts Trilogy“ for mixed shor, violin, violoncello, piano and orchestra
Orchestra of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival
Tan Dun (direction)

18 August 2012
Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Laeiszhalle, 8 PM
World premiere: Tan Dun
”Symphonic Poem of 4 Notes“. Concerto for organ and orchestra
Cameron Carpenter (organ)
NDR Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun (direction)

Further performance: 19 August 2012 in Flensburg (Deutsches Haus, 7 PM)


» Show all news