Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lin Yang's “Der Schatten nimmt Abschied” on NDR Kultur

The programme "neue musik" on NDR Kultur on 27 June 2012 (starting at 9:18 PM) is dedicated to the subject of "New Music by Asian Women Composers." This programme will include the piece "Der Schatten nimmt Abschied" for ensemble by Lin Yang (or, in the Chinese word order, YANG Lin).

Many women composers represent important currents in New Music in Asian countries. This summer, China is also at the centre of focus of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival.

Lin Yang was born in 1982 in Beijing. The recipient of two stipends, she studied from 2001 until 2006 at the Central Conservatory - composition and analysis of new music with Prof. Guoping Jia. She completed the Bachelor examination there in July 2006 and has been studying with Cornelius Schwehr in Freiburg since 2007.

The search for sound and its origin, experimentation with tone colours and noises, as well as contrapuntal techniques and tender, lyrical moods play an important role in her works. Her orchestral work "Speeding Adagio" was given its world premiere in 2010 at the Munich Biennale, performed by the Munich Radio Orchestra directed by Ulf Schirmer. Her first string quartet, entitled "In this Moment" was then premiered by the Amaryllis Quartet in Hamburg in November 2010. One year prior to this, the composer had obtained a furtherance prize from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Lin Yang's piece "Der Schatten nimmt Abschied" for flute, violin, violoncello, vibraphone, triangle and piano written in 2004 is based on a prose text by the Chinese author Lu Xun. The composer wishes to realise, in music, the concepts of disappearance and abandonment appearing in the text, also connecting them with autobiographical references to her own emigration. The musical material is a row consisting of six tones, organised both point by point and in the form of a line. Both the constant structural changes, leading from one state to the next, and the soft timbres stand for the subtle and sensitive metamorphoses of the inner condition. "Going far away, all alone, into a darkness, from which not only you would be excluded, but also other shadows," Lu Xun writes in the text forming the basis of the work. "Only I alone shall sink into this darkness. That world will belong to me alone."

This work has also been published by Sikorski as a printed edition (SIK 8564).


» Show all news