Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Semperoper Dresden: World Premiere of Lera Auerbach's Orchestral Work “Post Silentium“

The Staatskapelle Dresden will present the world premiere of the orchestral work “Post Silentium” by Lera Auerbach at the Dresden Semperoper on 1 July 2012 under the direction of the Finnish conductor Sakari Oramo, the present music director of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic.

”Post Silentium,” completed by the Russian-American composer this year, was commissioned by the Staatskapelle Dresden during the course of Lera Auerbach's Dresden residency as Capell-Compositrice 2011/12. The composer refers, in motifs and gestures, to the opening movement of her latest Requiem, which was premiered on 11 February 2012 at the Dresden Frauenkirche and was composed on the occasion of the 67th anniversary of the destruction of Dresden. Whereas two boy sopranos, countertenor, bass and a large choir perform the Latin Requiem, extended around the words “Amen” and “Alleluia,” in her “Post Silencium” Auerbach transfers the gesture of mourning and the promise of eternal life onto a purely instrumental orchestra.

Alongside “Post Silentium” and the Concerto for Violin, Violoncello and Orchestra of Johannes Brahms with the soloists Lisa Batiashvili and Truls Mørk, Sergei Prokofiev`s Symphony No. 6 will also be played by the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden at this symphony concert.

Further performances will take place on 2 and 3 July 2012 (at 8 PM on both days).

1 July 2012
Semperoper, 11 AM (Introduction for the concert: 10:15 AM, Opernkeller)
World premire: Lera Auerbach
“Post Silentium“ for orchestra
Staatskapelle Dresden
Sakari Oramo (direction)


» Show all news