Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Bamberg: World Premiere of Johannes X. Schachtner's String Trio “hoamdraht“

Johannes X. Schachtner's String Trio “hoamdraht” was composed for the Lombardini Trio, which will perform its world premiere on 13 March 2012 at the international artists' house Villa Concordia in Bamberg.

Besides this String Trio, a series of works by other composers (including Alfred Schnittke's String Trio) will be performed at this concert.

Schachtner on his new work:

“A while ago I became acquainted with the Viennese term ‘Hoamdrahn’ (used as a synonym for suicide) through Roger Willemsen’s ‘Knacks’; in particular, several thoughts about suicide among children moved me very much and were an important impulse for the String Trio, which was composed during the summer of 2011 at the instigation of the Lombardini Trio. The Viennese colour of the title is echoed in the sound which refers to the open strings of the zither and in the dominance of plucked strings. This very sound is formative: it is a study in sound dying away. I have prefaced the Trio with the words of the poet Johanna Schwedes that are found at the end of my ballade ‘Aufstieg’ (2010): ‘zur Nacht II / vom Himmel hängt ein schwarzer Strang / ich ziehe dran / und lösch die Welt’.”

13 March 2012
Saal der Villa Concordia, 7 PM
World premiere: Johannes X. Schachtner
String Trio “hoamdraht“
Lombardini Trio

» Show all news