Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere of “Chamber Music in Seven Movements” by Johannes X. Schachtner

Johannes X. Schachtner's “Chamber Music in Seven Movements” will receive its world premiere on 26 February 2012 at the Stephanuskirche in Augsburg during the course of the opening of the exhibition “Martin Schmidt: Seven Works of Compassion.” The performers will be Johannes Potzel (percussion) and Johanna Soller (organ).

Schachtner comments on his “Chamber Music in Seven Movements” as follows:

“During recent years I have repeatedly made small composition studies with extremely reduced rhythmical and melodic material. I have now brought together several of these small works for the Chamber Music, completing them to form a cycle - in most of the movements there arose an intimate duo for percussion and organ, otherwise such powerful instruments.
Unlike my previous works for and with organ ('Gloriole,' 'Historienkantate,' 'Credo,' 'Mezz’agosto') which make much use of the orchestral possibilities of the organ, the emphasis in these seven movements is on reduction, also in terms of sonority - the work is therefore conceived for just a small organ with a few stops and the percussion battery is correspondingly small, consisting of triangle, crotales, temple blocks, tom-tom and snare drum.”

There will be an advance premiere of the work in Gauting (Frauenkirche, 7 PM) on the evening before the premiere.

26 February 2012
Stephanuskirche, 5 AM
World premiere: Johannes X. Schachtner
“Kammermusik in sieben Sätzen“ for percussion and organ
Johannes Potzel (persussion)
Johanna Soller (organ)


» Show all news