Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Berlin: World Premiere of Gubaidulina's Quartet for Four Flutes in a Version for Recorder Quartet

Sofia Gubaidulina's Quartet for Four Flutes will receive its world premiere in a version for recorder quartet on 24 January 2012 during the course of the Ultraschall Festival. The Festival will take place from 20 until 29 January at various locations in Berlin and has been organised by Deutschlandradio Kultur and kulturradio of rbb since 1999.

This work, composed in 1977 in the original version for four flutes was premiered in Moscow in 1978 by Irina Loben, Alexander Korneyev, Alexander Munshin und Oleg Chernyavsky. The premiere of the new version at the Berlin Musical Instrument Museum will be presented by the recorder ensemble QNG (Quartet New Generation).

The Quartet unites a five-movement structure with absolute homogeneity of musical material, presented in the first movement and developed in the next four. The cyclic composition has little in common with classical form since it is rather free in form, combining graceful improvisation with strict intervallic selection connected with different states of the musical material: chromatic, diatonic, pentatonic and non-tempered micro-intervals. These components successively gain the upper hand in various sections and are simultaneously layered on top of each other several times. This fractionation of the four states - chromatic, diatonic, pentatonic and micro-intervals comes out clearly for the first time in this work of Gubaidulina and can be observed even more consistently in the piano concerto "Introitus" (1978) composed shortly afterwards.

24 January 2012
Ultraschall Festivals, Berliner Musikinstrumentenmuseum, 8 PM
World premiere: Sofia Gubaidulina
Quartet for four flutes in a version for recorder quartet
Quartet New Generation (Susanne Fröhlich, Andrea Guttmann, Miako Klein and Heide Schwarz)


» Show all news