Repertoire search

Search by surname

Detailed search

AVENTURE FAUST. Three dream scenes freely based on
Goethe's"Faust"+Heine's"Dtschld.Ein Wintermärchen"

Composer: Müller-Wieland, Jan
Subtitle: for six solo singers and a spatially distributed
ensemble by Birgit Müller-Wieland
Lyricists: Müller-Wieland, Birgit
Playing time: 40:00
Opus/Year: (2008)
Genre: Opera
Instrumentation: Im Zuschauerraum: 0,0,1,0 - 0,1,0,0 - Schl I ( Xyl I, Vibr I, gr.Mahler-Hammer, Gong, gr.Tam-t I, 2 Vl, 2 Vc Im Orchestrgraben: 1,0,0,0 - 1,0,0,0 - Schl II (Xyl II, Glsp, Vibr II, kl.Tr, gr.Tr, gr.hg.Bk, Guiro, gr. Tam-t II, Klav/Cel, Cemb, Vc, Kb (Fünfsaiter)
Premiere performance: 21.11.2008 / Munich / D / Reaktorhalle / Jan Müller-Wieland


F(aust) is utterly weary of life and in fact no longer wants to live. When the front doorbell rings, he thinks it is the new cleaning lady. F. is initially confused that a man has been sent to him, but then he lets M(ephisto) into the flat after being urged to do so thrice. The insects in the flat recognise their old master in M. F. and M. drink together in a pub. F. swallows a tablet which makes every woman appear desirable to him.
However, the dead G(retchen), sitting at the next table, does not react favourably. F. reminds M. of the promise made. He absolutely wants to see the dead G. again. After a series of adventures, M. brings the unconscious F. back to his flat. The dead G. has followed them. When F. recovers consciousness, he establishes, overcome with horror, that he is blind. M. has lost the bet. The insects triumph.


1. Traumszene
2. Traumszene
3. Traumszene

Hire material:

Hire material for this work is available. Please contact our Orchestral Department.