Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Stavanger: Norwegian Premiere of Krzysztof Meyer's Symphony No. 8 “Sinfonia da Requiem“

In four of the five movement of his Symphony No. 8 "Sinfonia da Requiem," the Polish composer Krzysztof Meyer has set to music poems by the Polish author, poet, essayist and civil rights activist Adam Zagajewski. The subject of the poems chosen by Meyer is the Holocaust.

The world premiere in Katowice in January 2011 is now being followed by the Norwegian premiere in Stavanger on 10 November 2011 by the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, also directed by Michail Jurowski, to whom the work is dedicated.

Krzysztof Meyer's comments on his "Sinfonia da Requiem:"

“I worked on the ‘Sinfonia da requiem’ during the years 2008/09. The idea behind this work originated a good deal earlier, however, during the 1990s, when I considered whether it would be possible for me to write a work concerning the subject of anti-Semitism and persecution of the Jews. Since my childhood, after all, I had been taught that anti-Semitism is a particularly shameful prejudice. I have unfortunately come across it repeatedly during the course of my life and still do, even in people whom I consider to be cultivated – as if they did not want to find out anything about it, about pogroms, the ghetto and the annihilation of the Jews.

The general form of the Symphony took shape when I became more closely acquainted with the oeuvre of the outstanding Polish poet Adam Zagajewski. From his many poems dealing with this subject, I selected four with contents that especially appealed to me.

The Symphony was written for choir and symphony orchestra and has five movements. The second movement, forming a musical commentary on the city of Jedwabny, is exclusively instrumental.”

10 November 2011
Konserthus Hovedsalen, 7:30 PM
Norwegian premiere: Krzysztof Meyer
Symphony No. 8 “Sinfonia da requiem”
Stavanger Symfoniorkester
Michail Jurowski (direction)


» Show all news