Repertoire search

Search by surname

Detailed search

THE CYBERIAD. Fantastic comic opera in three acts
after Stanislaw Lem

Composer: Meyer, Krzysztof
Lyricists: Kchel, Jrgen
Lem, Stanislaw
Opus/Year: 15 (1970)
Genre: Opera
Instrumentation: 3(2Picc),3(EnglHorn),3(Es-Klar,ASax,BKlar),3(KFag) 4,4,3,1 5 Schl (4 Pk, Crot, Claves, Guiro, Stahlplatte, Bk, Tamb, 2 Bongos, 4 Tomt, kl.Tr, gr.Tr, Gong, Tam-t, RhrenGl, Glsp, Xyl, Vibr, Marimba), Harfe, Cel, Klav, Harm, Streicher
Premiere performance: 11.05.1986 / Wuppertal / D / Jean Francois Monnard


In an age inhabited by androids, the constructor Trull invents a storytelling machine for the melancholy Queen Genia; its tales are intended to entertain her and cheer her up. The first is about how Trull builds a super-computer for the King of Much-too-many, with whose help, however, he is to be himself turned off. Through a refined trick, however, Trull succeeds in thwarting the Kings plan. In the second story, King Voluptatus has three giant erotic dream cupboards built for his by the engineer Cunning, which he tires out with enthusiasm. Fully caught in this world of dreams, he loses his ability to return to reality. In the story of the third machine, Automatthias, shipwrecked, finds himself in great danger from which even his tiny computer In-the-ear sees no way out. After being rescued unexpectedly, he becomes a bitter enemy of technology for the rest of his existence. At the end of this ironical-utopian reflection about earthy existence, there arises the insight that not money, progress and perfection can save the world, but only wisdom and truth.

In printed editions:

Meyer, Krzysztof
  • Cyberiada
    Fantastic opera in three acts after Stanislav Lem. Libretto
    Edition no.: SIK3/5618
    Edition: Libretto
    Price: € 3,50 incl. VAT plus delivery