Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lera Auerbach: Austrian Premiere of ”Serenade for a Melancholic Sea“ in Graz

Lera Auerbach's 2002 concert work "Serenade for a Melancholic Sea“ received its world premiere in September 2002 in the major Japanese city of Kanazawa on the island of Honshu, performed by the Kanazawa Orchestral Ensemble directed by Hiroyuki Iwaki. The composition was commissioned by the Kanazawa Orchestral Ensemble.

This work, dedicated to Gidon Kremer, will now be given its Austrian premiere at the Graz Congress on 17 June 2011. The Ensemble of the University of Music in Graz will present it under the direction of the Teheran-born conductor Nassir Heidarian.

Lera Auerbach comments on " Serenade for a Melancholic Sea " as follows:
“This work was completed at the request of Gidon Kremer, to whom it is dedicated, and was commissioned by the Ensemble Kanazawa. Written in homage to Toru Takemitsu, the material of the ‘Serenade’ incorporates both Toru’s and Gidon’s monograms. Takemitsu’s ‘Sea motive’ (E-flat, E, A) is also present. Thus, symbolically, Gidon and Toru meet again in a timeless and spaceless sea of music. Perhaps the greatest mystery of musical performance is when composer, performer and listener meet in the realm of a moment in which future meets past and this intersection becomes present. The orchestra and soloists play very different roles in this piece. The orchestral writing is delicate yet complex. The image I had in mind in its conception was of a painting that from distance may seem as a one-colored pallet canvas, but upon a closer look - one finds very detailed brushwork - a polyphonic painting. The string orchestra is divided in 23 independent parts that carry different perspectives in this ever-changing mosaic of colors. Upon this quiet but multi-layered background the main characters of Violin, Cello and Piano are present as individual figures surrounded by a large open space.“

17 June 2011
Congress, 7 PM
Austrian premiere: Lera Auerbach
”Serenade for a Melancholic Sea“ for violin, violoncello, piano and strings
Ensemble of the Universitv of Music Graz
Direction: Nassir Heidarian


» Show all news