Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Mouvement Festival 2011: World Premieres of Works by Jan Müller-Wieland and Ferran Cruixent

The Mouvement Festival 2011 in Saarbrücken bears the subtitle "Music and Faith." Numerous concerts with new music will be presented from 11 to 15 May. There are also two world premieres of works from the Sikorski catalogue on the concert programme of the Festival.

Jan Müller-Wieland's "Engel-Lieder" will be given its world premiere on 14 May at the Saarbrücken Academy of Music. In this work, the Munich-based composer sets poems by his wife, Birgit Müller-Wieland. Müller-Wieland, who is currently celebrating his 45th birthday, dedicated his "Engel Lieder" to the soprano Claudia Barainsky "in admiration of her voice." Barainsky will present the work together with the pianist Axel Bauni.

On 15 May, the final day of the Festival, the world premiere of "Virtual," a new orchestral work by Ferran Cruixent, will be given by the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern conducted by Christoph Poppen.

Cruixent's has commented on "Virtual" as follows:

"Virtual means that we live in several times at once. The core idea while composing it was my wife's pregnancy (the work is dedicated to her). Pregnancy is something magical and virtual up to the last minute. One can divide it into different phases - for example, the creation, the division of the cells, the real and virtual communication, the birth – but there is also the magic here of great emotion outside of space and time."

14 May 2011
Academy of Music, 9 PM
World premiere: Jan Müller-Wieland
”Engel-Lieder“ for soprano and piano after poems by Birgit Müller-Wieland
Claudia Barainsky (soprano), Axel Bauni (piano)

15 May 2011
Congresshalle, 11 AM
World premiere: Ferran Cruixent
“Virtual“ for large orchestra
Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern
Christoph Poppen (direction)


» Show all news