Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

London: World Premiere of Elena Firsova's Cello Concerto No. 4 ”Concerto-Elegy“ in memoriam Mstislav Rostropovich

The world premiere of Elena Firsova's Cello Concerto No. 4 ”Concerto-Elegy“ will take place on 18 February 2011 at St. Paul’s Church in London.

Anatole Liebermann will present the Concerto with the St. Paul’s Sinfonia under the direction of Andrew Morley. Liebermann, to whom Firsova dedicated the work written in 2008, already gave the premiere of the composer's First Cello Concerto in 1975 in Moscow.

"My cello work 'Slava,' which I composed on the day of Mstislav Rostropovich's funeral in April 2007, provided the essential material for my Fourth Cello Concerto," says the composer. "For the second theme I used the rhythm of Lensky's aria 'The world will not forget me' from Tchaikovsky's opera 'Eugene Onegin'"

A further performance will take place one month later on 17 March in Zilina, Slovakia. Liebermann will perform the Slovakian premiere of the work with the Slovakian Sinfonietta under the direction of Valentin Doni.

18 February 2011
St. Paul’s Church, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Elena Firsova
”Concerto-Elegy“ in memoriam Mstislav Rostropovich
Cello Concerto No. 4
Anatole Liebermann (violoncello)
St. Paul’s Sinfonia
Andrew Morley (conductor)


» Show all news