Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“KAPmodern” – The Russian Women Composers Elena Firsova, Sofia Gubaidulina and Katia Tchemberdji in Potsdam

Music by three Russian women composers who live in Germany and England is at the focus of the next concert of the Kammerakademie in their series of contemporary music “KAPmodern” on 11 November 2010 in Potsdam. The soprano Maacha Deubner and musicians of the Kammerakademie Potsdam will be presenting works by Sofia Gubaidulina, Elena Firsova and Katia Tchemberdji.

The main work on the programme is a cantata for soprano and string quartet by Elena Firsova based on late poems of Ossip Mandelstam, who died in a Stalinist camp in 1938. His multi-coloured poetry has already inspired the composer, who will be present at the concert, to compose an entire series of works. For her, the poet’s central message is “that we can see the most tragic occurrences in the light of beauty.” The texts used in the cantata are first recited in Russian and in German. A solo piece for flute entitled “Questions and Answers” shows another facet of Firsova’s oeuvre at the beginning of the programme. The composer will be present.

Sofia Gubaidulina has also been inspired by poetry; the “Letter to the Poet Rimma Dalos” for soprano and violoncello bears witness to a creative relationship. A virtuoso String Trio by Gubaidulina will be contrasted with a reserved Trio Dolcissimo for the unusual combination of flute, violin and violoncello by Katia Tchemberdji, who lives in Berlin. Tchemberdji writes: “Like my colleagues Sofia Gubaidulina and Elena Firsova, whom I have known very well since my youth and held in high esteem, I have had to come to terms with many new realities, both personally and musically. Like a razor-thin gap between languages, I have experienced a narrow, impenetrable no-man’s land between here and there, a gap between the past and what it yet to come. The subject of loneliness and being separated came through this – a crucial theme for several compositions of this time.” Taken altogether, the works of the Russian contemporaries reveal a great richness of relationships; different traditions melt together here to form a new sonic totality.

Thursday, 11 November 2010, 8:00 PM,
Nikolaisaal Potsdam, Foyer

Elena Firsova
“Questions and Answers” for Flute Solo
Sofia Gubaidulina
Trio for Violin, Viola and Violoncello
« Letter to the Poet Rimma Dalos » for Soprano and Violoncello
Katia Tchemberdji
Trio Dolcissimo for Flute, Violin and Violoncello
Elena Firsova
»From the Voronezh Notebooks » –
Cantata for Soprano and String Quartet based on Poems of Ossip Mandelstam
Reading: Poems of Ossip Mandelstam
Maacha Deubner Soprano
Marina Philippova Speaker
Members of the Kammerakademie Potsdam
Bettina Lange Flute
Matan Dagan and Christiane Plath Violin
Ralph Günthner Viola
Jan-Peter Kuschel Violoncello


» Show all news