Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Intersections China & Germany:” Lin Yang’s “In this Moment” premiered in Hamburg

Lin Yang, a very promising young composer and Siemens Foundation stipend holder, has written her first String Quartet for the Amaryllis Quartet.

The ensemble, recipients of various international prizes, will perform the world premiere of Lin Yang’s “In this Moment” during the course of the event “Intersections: China & Germany” at the Laeiszhalle Hamburg on 30 November 2010. Chinese poems, including some by Lin Yang, will be recited to accompany this concert, with the intention of making possible an expanded perception and references of mood to classical music as well.

Lin Yang was born in Beijing (China) in 1982. She began playing piano at the age of seven and attended the Music Middle School of the Central Conservatory in Beijing from 1995 until 2001, studying piano and composition. 

From 2001 until 2006 she studied composition and new music analysis at the Central Conservatory with Prof. Guoping Jia, made possible by two stipends. She completed the Bachelor examinations in July 2006 and has been studying with Cornelius Schwehr in Freiburg since 2007. In May 2009, the composer received a furtherance prize from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

30 November 2010
Laeiszhalle, Kleiner Saal, 8 PM
“Intersections China & Germany”
World premiere: Lin Yang
“In this Moment” - String Quartet No. 1
Amaryllis Quartet


» Show all news