Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Munich: World Premiere of Jan Müller-Wieland’s “Alpine Scene. Four old Women” on 25 November 2010

The Munich composer Jan Müller-Wieland has written the music to Thomas Bernhard’s mini-drama “Der deutsche Mittagstisch“ together with colleagues Bernhard Lang and Helga Pogatschar.

During the course of a Thomas Bernhard project “Alpen glühen. Match, Maiandacht und magische Gesänge”, Müller-Wieland’s piece “Alpine Scene. Four old Women” for female voices and zither will receive its world premiere performance at the Marstall Theatre of the Bavarian State Theatre on 25 November 2010.  The soloists will be Salome Kammer (voice) and Georg Glasl (zither), with Cornel Franz as director.

The composer has supplied the following commentary on the contents:

”Four women admire the mountain panorama and alpine glow, and philosophise about the climatic warming and the melting of the glaciers. The communication does not work, first of all because one of the ladies is hard of hearing, and secondly because the four essentially misunderstand each other. One singer sings and speaks the roles of all four women. 

The Alpine Scene is blocked in Bernhard/Lang’s mixture of text of music. The listener believes that he can flee from this spiral. But the moment of cheerfulness, triggered by the absurd conversation, suffocates in banal ridiculousness and ultimately underlines the stringency and obduracy of Bernhard/Lang’s scenery of speech and music.”

25 November 2010
Bavarian State Theatre, Marstall theatre, 8 PM
World premiere: Jan Müller-Wieland
“Alpine Scene. Four old Women”  for female voice and zither
after “Alpenglühen” by Micaela von Marcard
Salome Kammer (voice), Georg Glasl (zither)

further performances: 26 November (8 PM) & 28. November (7 PM)


» Show all news