Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

”Hommage à Frank Cox”: Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s New Piece to be Premiered in Leipzig

MH Leipzig

The Norwegian Ensemble asamisimasa will perform the world premiere of the new piece “Hommage à Frank Cox” for piano, quarter-tone vibraphone and electric guitar by the Mannheim-born composer Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf on 11 November 2010.

The concert will take place at the Academy of Music and Theatre in Leipzig and is part of the concert programme “Musik & Gegenwart 26” (Music and the Present 26).

The composer says the following about his work:

”I admire in Frank Cox a musician who has three gifts at a high, virtuoso level all at the same time. Firstly, he is composer, secondly, he plays the cello, specialising in extremely complicated works and finally, he is a brilliant thinker and author. Thus my ‘Hommage à Frank Cox’ is written as a trio. The vibraphone functions like a typewriter being typed on, the piano represents the place where the composer looks for his sounds and the electric guitar represents the ‘performance’ of a soloist.

Throughout large sections, the three musicians play independently of each other although temporally coordinated. The work is therefore not written in score form. Each player plays a part in the given tempi independently of the other two players. The piano, which plays all the time, gives the vibraphone and guitar their entrances. The course of events is interrupted by three cadenzas, and a finale concludes the work. The players play together here in score form.

Morphologically speaking, my point of departure was the (very simple) sinus wave whose mathematical function I continually enriched through additives, so that the formal sections of all three instruments can be shaped like a large network of variations. They play the same music, even when striving for stubborn independence.”

11 November 2010
Hochschule für Musik und Theater, Großer Saal, 7:30 PM
World premiere: Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf
”Hommage à Frank Cox” for piano, electric guitar and quarter-tone vibraphone
Ensemble asamisimasa (Oslo)


» Show all news