Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Sofia Gubaidulina at the International Weingarten Days for New Music 2010

The organisers of the International Weingarten Days for New Music have invited Sofia Gubaidulina as „Grande Dame of the International Composers’ Scene“ to their 25th festival from 22 until 24 October 2010. The composer will be present at all three days and participate in the concerts.

“Sofia Gubaidulina is considered a composer whose oeuvre moves people through its intensity, spirituality and deeply personal manner of expression. In her sacred music, in particular, she has opened up new horizons beyond the everyday experience of time.” (...) “She is considered a exceptional composer of New Music, the most important Russian composer of the present day and a pensive person whose spiritual horizon does not end with music,” according to the organisers.

An overview of the concert programme:

Friday, 22.10.2010

Concert 1
Schlossbau of the PH Weingarten, 8 PM

“Mirage: The dancing sun”
for eight violoncelli (2002)

“Ten preludes”
for violoncello solo (1974)

“Rumore e Silenzio”
for percussion and cembalo/celesta (1974)

“On the edge of abyss”
for seven violoncelli and 2 waterphones (2002)

Leander Kaiser (percussion), Wolfgang Hörlin (cembalo)
Conductor: Julius Berger

Samstag, 23.10.2010

Künstlergespräch mit Sofia Gubaidulina
17.30 Uhr im Schlossbau der PH Weingarten

Concert 2
Basilika Weingarten, 7 PM

“Light and darkness“
for organ (1976)

“Jauchzt vor Gott“
for mixed choir and organ (1989)

“Sonnengesang“ des Hl. Franz von Assisi
for mixed choir, violoncello and percussion (1997)

Latvian Radio Choir
Ramon Jaffé (violoncello), Aigars Reinis (organ)
Conductor: Sigvards Klava

Sonntag, 24.10.2010

Concert 3
Lecture recital, Schlossbau of the PH, 3 PM

Sofia Gubaidulina arbeitet mit SchülerInnen (Preisträger von “Jugend musiziert”) der Bruno-Frey-Musikschule

Concert 4
Schlossbau of the PH Weingarten, 5 PM

for violin, violoncello and accordion (1991)

“De profundis”
for accordion (1978)

“In croce”
for violoncello and accordion (1979)

for trombone, saxophone quartet, violoncello and double bass (2004) Saxophonquartett
Miguel Tantos (trombone), Grigori Katz (double bass), Julian Steckel (violoncello), Teodoro Anzellotti (accordion), Henja Semmler (violin)


» Show all news