Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

2010 Aleksandr Men Prize for Sofia Gubaidulina

The Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina, who will celebrate her 80th birthday in October of next year, will receive the Aleksander Men Prize on 25 October 2010 at the Weingarten Conference Centre. The conductor and violinist Andres Mustonen will give the laudation.

The prize honours personalities who have served the intercultural exchange between Russia and Germany “in the interest of peaceful and humane development of the European house,” as the Academy of the Diocese of Rottenburg-Stuttgart has expressed it. It is presented in memory of the Russian Orthodox archpriest Aleksander Men, who was murdered in 1990. This humanist und theologian, born in 1935, published a total of ten books about questions of faith, all of which have been printed abroad. Men’s best known work, “The Son of Man – an Introduction to Christianity” (also published in German by Herder Verlag), become a bestseller in his homeland after the dissolution of the Soviet Union. Men was murdered in 1990 whilst on the way to Sunday Mass at his parish church. The crime has remained unsolved to the present day.

Sofia Gubaidulina’s deep religiosity has left considerable traces in her extensive compositional oeuvre. Her best known sacred work is the two-part oratorio “St. John Easter” and “St. John Passion.”


» Show all news