Elena Firsova World Premiere's in Toulouse and at the “Fürstensaal Classix” in Kempten

The Russian composer Elena Firsova, today living in Great Britain, turned 60 on 21 March 2010. Many events this year were and still are being dedicated to her and this occasion. In mid-September she will be composer in residence at the renowned chamber music festival “Fürstensaal Classix” (15-19 September) in Kempten (Allgäu).

Already on 9 September 2010, Firsova’s new orchestral work “Beyond the Seven Seals” will be given its world premiere by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev in the French metropolis of Toulouse.

The composer has this to say about her new piece:

”The title ‘Beyond the Seven Seals’ originates in the Bible, but in Russian it has another meaning when we speak of mysteries that we do not understand. I have preceded the composition with the opening of a poem by Omar Khayyam as an epigraph:

’Where did we come from?
Where are we going?
What meaning does our life have?
We cannot comprehend it ...’

The composition begins with these three questions, represented by the harp. Then follows a phrase consisting of seven sections relating to the symbolism of the last line, ‘We cannot comprehend it…:’ the answer to our questions lies behind the seven seals. The people try to understand something during the entire piece, but everything boils down to the fatal seventh seal. The composition ends with seven chords struck by the entire orchestra.”

At this year’s “Fürstensaal Classix” in Kempten, which will present Elena Firsova as composer in residence, Firsova’s “From the Voronezh Notebooks” on 18 September 2010 will receive its world premiere. It will be preceded by a discussion with the composer, then the new chamber work will be presented by Maacha Deubner (soprano), Raphaël Oleg (first violin), Liza Ferschtman (second violin), Ryszard Groblewski (viola) and Marko Ylönen (violoncello).

9 September 2010
Halle aux Grains, 8 PM
World premiere: Elena Firsova
“Beyond the Seven Seals“ for orchestra
Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse
Tugan Sokhiev (conductor)
Commissioned work by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse

18 September 2010
Elena Firsova under discussion with Annika Täuscher (Bayerischer Rundfunk), 6:30 PM
Concert, 8 PM
World premiere: Elena Firsova
“From the Voronezh Notebooks” – Cantata for soprano and string quartet op. 121
Maacha Deubner (soprano), Raphaël Oleg (violin I), Liza Ferschtman (violin II), Ryszard Groblewski (viola), Marko Ylönen (violoncello)


» Show all news