Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Moritz Eggert: World Premiere of “Flohwalze” in New York

Everyone has probably heard the “Flea Waltz” 100 to 1000 times. This is also the case with the composer Moritz Eggert, and for this reason he has decided to come to terms with what he calls the “most horrible piece of music in the history of humanity.”

”Flohwalze” for recorder quartet was conceived as an encore piece for the QNG (Quartet New Generation) and will receive its world premiere on 27 June 2010 in New York. The concert will take place during the “Bang on a Can Marathon,” at which 12 hours of music will be offered on the spot.

”The piece lasts 3 minutes and attempts to run the horrible melody of the ‘Flea Waltz’ through the meat grinder with all the rules of the art, then process it into sausage and finally burning it off with a flame thrower. At the end there is a complete disintegration of the material,” Moritz Eggert goes on to say.

27 June 2010
New York
World Financial Center, Winter Garden, 12 PM
World premiere: Moritz Eggert
„Flohwalze“ for recorder quartet
Moritz Eggert (piano)
Ensemble QNG (Quartet New Generation)
During the course of the “Bang on a Can Marathon” (12 hours of live music)
The work is dedicated to the ensemble QNG


» Show all news