Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere of Moritz Eggert’s “Number Nine VIII: Zeitarbeit” in Bonn

For the opening concert of the 2009 Beethoven Festival in Bonn on 4 September, Moritz Eggert was commissioned to compose Number Nine VIII: Zeitarbeit for soloist and orchestra. The concert is under the patronage of Chancellor Angela Merkel.

Moritz Eggert (piano, sampler) and the Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin under the direction of Ingo Metzmacher will present the work at the Beethovenhalle.

The composer has supplied the following commentary:

“Similar to my piano cycle ‘Hämmerklavier’ (meanwhile 22 individual pieces, originally planned as a cycle of ten pieces), the orchestral cycle ‘Number Nine’ is designed as a 9-part cycle out of independent pieces which would take up about two full concerts. The first cycle will end with the piece – how else could it be? – ‘Number Nine IX: Number 9.’ Like many endings, however, this one is open.

The pieces range from purely orchestral pieces, both shorter and longer, to concerto-like works such as ‘Number Nine VI: A Bigger Splash’ for saxophone, jazz bass and orchestra (composed in 2007 for the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Bochum Symphony Orchestra).

In my new piece, ‘Number Nine VIII: Temp Work,’ taking as a point of departure the ideas of the composer B.A. Zimmermann which are extremely important to me (‘Sphere Form of Time’), I am interested in a merging together of temporal and linguistic levels: 60 years of German history in an extremely densely woven music, also including original sounds, music theatre and performance elements, all in just a little over ten minutes. This is either a complete sensory overload – or a representation of how humans sense the passage of time, which every person always perceives as going by ‘too fast.’ If music can represent such a time-space, then only in sweat-inducing ‘temp work.’”

4 September 2009
World premiere: Moritz Eggert,
Number Nine VIII: Zeitarbeit for Soloist and Orchestra
Soloist: Moritz Eggert (piano, sampler)
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Ingo Metzmacher (conductor)


» Show all news