Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Premieres of Ali-Zadeh and Auerbach in Verbier, Switzerland

The violinist Dmitry Sitkovetsky and Lera Auerbach at the piano will perform the world premiere of Auerbach’s chamber work “Job’s Lament” for violin and piano on 26 July at the Verbier Festival (17 July – 2 August 2009) in the Wallis Alps. In this work, the composer and poetess Lera Auerbach dedicates herself to the Biblical figure of Job, who begins to doubt his belief in God when pursued by misfortune. The basis of the work is one of Auerbach’s own poems entitled “Job’s Lament.”

Job’s Lament

When all is lost - I am fulfilled.
In losing - I am gaining sight.
There is no wrong. There is no right.
My flesh is peeling off - the kiss of God.
Iʼm the chosen one. What does it mean?
And why this glorious wrath of God?
Iove lost my home, my pride, my wife.
I must be fortunate - I own nothing.
Only my faith.
Only my God.
Only myself.
I no longer ask you, “Why?”
I only hope you know best.
I lie here dying, my children are dead.
No longer do I question your motives.
Why ask for answers,
when there are questions?
Why pray for less
while welcoming death?
My eyesight grows dim
and finally I see:
there can be no answers,
there shall never be answers.
And there is no fear.
There is nothing to fear.
There is nothing, nothing,
nothing to fear.
There is nothing.

On the same day in Verbier, Franghiz Ali-Zadeh’s piece “Habil-sajahy” for violin and prepared piano will be premiered by Dmitry Sitkovetsky and Jakov Jakulov. This is an adaptation by the composer of her work “Habil-sajahy” for violoncello and prepared piano, composed in 1979 and frequently performed ever since.


» Show all news