Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

"In excelsis" by Raskatov

The Russian composer Alexander Raskatov has given the title "in excelcis," a designation originating in the Bible and sacred music, to his new Concerto for Violin and Orchestra. The work will receive its world premiere on 30 April 2009 in Dallas, performed by violinist Emanuel Borok and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Jaap van Zweden. Alban Berg, with his Violin Concerto "In Memory of an Angel," set a precedent by also giving a violin concerto a "heavenly" association.

The 400th birthday of one of the world's oldest violin instruments, the Amati violin owned by the concertmaster of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Emmanuel Borok, was the occasion for the Orchestra's commissioning this composition.

Raskatov's "In excelsis“ is cast in five movements, bearing the following titles: "Cantillation“, "Perpetuum mobile“, "Shadows“, "Yellow Stars“ and "In excelsis“.

Alexander Raskatov: In excelsis: Concerto Violin and Orchestra
Emanuel Borok, violin / Dallas Symphony Orchestra, cond.: Jaap van Zweden