Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Gidon Kremer's New Schnittke Adaptation

Following the world premiere of Alexander Asteriades's string orchestra adaptation of Alfred Schnittke's Piano Quartet on 16 August 2001 by Gidon Kremer and his Kremerata Baltica the Maestro has created a Suite for "his" ensemble bearing the title Fragment Suite consisting of the following Schnittke works: "Canon" for the Frankfurt Opera House for violin solo and nine strings (Berg/Schnittke), the first movement from an unfinished Cantata for Harpsichord and Strings, Piano Quartet (Schnittke/Asteriades) as well as Fragment No. 2 for violin solo and strings from the Five Fragments on Pictures by Hieronymus Bosch. The world premiere of the "Fragment Suite" took place on 4 October 2001 in Waldenburg, Baden-Wrttemberg (Germany). Further performances followed in Villingen (8 October), Neumarkt (10 October), Cologne (12 October) Nuremberg (15 October) and Vilnius (19 October).