Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Sofia Gubaidulina Receives Polar Music Prize 2002

As was recently announced in Stockholm, the Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina has been awarded the Polar Music Prize 2002, which is awarded annually for outstanding musical accomplishment to several personalities and institutions in the area of popular music as well as serious music. This year's second prize winner is the South African Miriam Makeba.

The prize will be presented in Stockholm on 27 May 2002 by King Carl Gustav XVI of Sweden in the presence of Crown Princess Victoria during a festive ceremony.

The prize, established by Stig Andersson in 1989 and endowed with one million Swedish crowns for each prize winner, has been awarded for the past ten years. The composers previously honoured include Karlheinz Stockhausen, Isaac Stern, Bob Dylan, Iannis Xenakis, Ray Charles, Pierre Boulez, Sir Elton John, Mstislav Rostropovich, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Witold Lutoslawki and Sir Paul McCartney.