Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Elena Firsova: Requiem to Texts of Anna Akhmatova, Op. 100 - German Premiere in Berlin on 6 September 2003

The Berlin Radio Choir and the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra will perform the German premiere of Elena Firsova's Requiem for Soprano, Choir and Orchestra to texts of Anna Akhmatova, Op. 100 at the Berlin Konzerthaus. The Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra will perform under the direction of Vassily Sinaiski with Claudia Barainsky as soprano soloist.

The following appeared in the Berlin Radio Choir's announcement:

"The Requiem is concerned with death and eternity; it is the classical mass for the dead of Christian churches. The poems of Anna Akhmatova deal with suffering in one's time and the oppression that robs people of the chance to live a fulfilled life. Where does death begin? Only with the physical end? Elena Firsova continues the thoughts of the poetess, making the experience of her own epoch into a chapter of human history. With this work, carried by the events of the twentieth century, the Radio Choir begins a series of concerts concerned with musical interpretations of the Requiem."